Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
The Official Home Of the MSOE Raiders

Krisik Wins NACC Man of the Year Honors

Krisik Wins NACC Man of the Year Honors

MILWAUKEE – Following one of the best careers in the history of the men's volleyball program, MSOE's very own Quin Krisik (Itasca, Ill. / Itasca) has been named the Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference (NACC) Man of the Year for the 2018-19 academic year, as chosen by the league's Senior Woman Administrators Standing Committee (SWASC).

"During my time at MSOE as a student-athlete, I have come to realize the impact that I can have on the world," said Krisik. "Starting in the gym, I was naturally given leadership roles due to my skill. As a young, socially awkward engineer, I originally felt uncomfortable being the captain of the team and a person that was looked up to. The volleyball program eventually eased me into being a leader on and off the court. I was trusted by the coaching staff to coordinate team events and motivate guys by reminding them of our common goal.

"I then stepped into leading community service efforts for the team during my sophomore year. My urge to give back has been a result of the love and generosity that has been poured into me throughout my life. I have seen the difference that a single person can make in another's life. I hope to do this with my continued career in volleyball and biomedical engineering."

The Itasca, Illinois, native was a four-year member of the Raiders men's volleyball team, leading MSOE to the NACC Tournament title and a berth in the NCAA Division III Championship field as a senior, both first time experiences for the program.

He was a two-time American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) NCAA Division III All-American, earning second-team honors as both a freshman (2015) and a senior (2019). Krisik was also a four-time first-team all-league selection (MCVL-2015, 2016, 2017; NACC-2019) as well as a two-time league Player of the Year (MCVL-2017; NACC-2019) and the 2015 MCVL Rookie of the Year.

A setter, Krisik led NCAA Division III in assists per set as a freshman in 2015 and completed his career as MSOE's career leader in services aces (179) and assists (4,025), while ranking second in both digs (861) and hitting percentage (.323). He also tallied 446 kills and 195 blocks (36 solo) during his four-year career.

"Quin's conscientious character has influence on all those he interacts with," remarked MSOE head coach Shane Reid. "He is honorable, competitive and humble enough to seek knowledge and wisdom consistently. Quin is the kind of person that will seek to destroy you in competition and is noble enough to have a conversation with my two young daughters at a team function. I am honored to have been a part of Quin's journey at MSOE for four years."

Krisik graduated in May with a degree in biomedical engineering as he accumulated a 3.82 GPA.

The four-year captain has volunteered at the PADS Homeless Shelter, the Dorothy Day Hospitality House and with the MSOE Circle K Club while also serving as chair of volunteering for the MSOE Biomedical Engineering Honors Society. He was also a lead student volunteer for Empty Bowls Milwaukee and assisted with the Itasca Community Outreach Day from 2016-2018.

Each of the NACC's 12 co-ed members may nominate one male student-athlete for the annual award. The SWASC uses a combination of the following criteria in the selection of the award: athletic excellence, academic achievement, service and leadership, and personal statement.

This marks the third time that an MSOE male student-athlete was won the award, with Logan Andryk being the last Raider to take home the prestigious honor during the 2015-16 school year.

NACC Man of the Year Award Recipients By Year:

2018-19: Quin Krisik, MSOE

2017-18: Kevin Coppin, Concordia Chicago

2016-17: Eric Kittel, Concordia Wisconsin

2015-16: Logan Andryk, MSOE

2014-15: Logan Marvin, Dominican & Aaron Roeseler, Wisconsin Lutheran

2013-14: Eric Zeitler, Wisconsin Lutheran

2012-13: Doug Ingold, Aurora

2011-12: Tim Mackey, Aurora

2010-11: Austin Meier, MSOE

2009-10: Steve Salazar, Aurora & Brock Solveson, Concordia Wisconsin

2008-09: Zach Bickel, Concordia Chicago

2007-08: Jordan Van Ess, Marian*

 *inaugural award

For up-to-the-minute MSOE Raiders news, visit us at You can also follow the Red & White on Twitter @MSOE_Raiders and @msoe_raiders on Instagram.

Raiders Defeat Muskies
February 24, 2019 Raiders Defeat Muskies
MVB Game Moved to Lakeland
February 20, 2019 MVB Game Moved to Lakeland
Raiders Can’t Topple Red Men
February 16, 2019 Raiders Can’t Topple Red Men